Struisbaai Holiday Day 4 Breakfast, Bredasdorp and Boogy Boarding

This morning we woke up to just the two of us – a rare thing in our marriage having got together after we’d both had children and then blended our two families.  Of course that in itself was a wonderful thing – but when we have alone time we really appreciate it. Our first thought of what to do – was get to the beach before the crowds and have a swim so 7:30 found us wallowing in the waves and giggling like little kids.  Earl seldom swims – he fishes – so it was specially nice to enjoy the sea with him in this way.  I did not run as the tide was too high and my legs were still aching from yesterday’s soft sand jog!   The air was a tad chilly because the wind was blowing but the sea was deliciously warm and we did not want to get out!  The waves were pumping and we regretted not having boogy boards to surf.     When we were too exhausted from jumping the waves – it was quite rough today – we reluctantly dragged ourselves out and went home to shower. Today was the day we’d earmarked for Bredasdorp shopping and we wanted to make an early start – who wants to be in town when you could be chilling in Struisbaai!

We decided to have breakfast there and were quite happy with what the Flame Grill had to offer.  Then it was the serious business of shopping.  We needed the following and eventually managed to get it all.

  • Christmas Tree
  • Christmas Decorations
  • Roast for Christmas Day
  • Christmas Pudding
  • Various items from a hardware store
  • Make-up for me
  • Skipping rope for me (I promised Steve I would train)
  • Boogy Boards – we’re stupid enough to think we’re still young enough for this – read on!

I found tree that I thought would suit at Checkers – just the right size and it included a transformer and lights.  I was holding the box in my hand and contemplating the price when a woman came up to me and said, “I bought one of those last year and the tree started smoking and melting!” I decided that Providence had sent her and decided not to take that particular tree!   Instead I got a cheaper one without fancy gadgets and bought some pretty baubles to decorate it.  I didn’t want a tree (not much space) but thought the kids would never forgive me if I didn’t at least have a little one!

On our way to and from Bredasdorp we were fascinated to see a number of yellow-billed flying around.  There were also a number of steppe and jackal buzzards perched on telephone poles.   (Have to mention birds at least once in a holiday report)

Here is a regular visitor to our garden – specially when the sprinkler is on.

Female Cape Sugarbird on our lawn

Female Cape Sugarbird on our lawn

Female Cape Sugarbird on the telephone wire

Female Cape Sugarbird on the telephone wire

Struisbaai in the holidays has a market on a public open space next to the main road.   On our return from Bredasdorp we stopped to see what we could find and bought mielies (corn on the cob) and spanspek (cantaloupe).    We had the mielies for lunch – delicious.  Still to try the spanspek .

After lunch Earl did all the chores he needed to do – light on the Milkwood tree, putting up more hooks and sorting fishing tackle.  Clive dropped in and they organised fishing for tomorrow.

I cleaned house and set up the Christmas tree.

My promise to Steve had to be kept – I did not run this morning so  conscious was pricking.   I opened up my kettle bell boxes – and oh no – one of them was the wrong weight!   I emailed and complained (politely) and had an immediate cell phone reply – huge apologies and yes my daughter could collect the correct one on her way up to Struis on Sunday and I could return the wrong one in January.  Still I had one that was usable so I did a little circuit routine that Steve, I think would approve of.  My usual warm up and then Skipping with my new fancy and very expensive rope, clean and press with the 6kg kettle bell, step ups on my stoep steps, swings with the 6kg kettle bell, and finishing with burpies.  Then stretches to cool down.  Tomorrow I intend including a run – on the beach or the road depending on whether I can catch the low tide or not!

Earl, while I was struggling through my routine on my own had gone to down to the harbour with Clive.   When he got back we went to the beach – and took the new boogy boards!   We were like kids at Christmas.  The tide was high, the wind was blowing and the waves were hectic!   But boy did we have fun — we caught the waves, were dunked several times and were totally exhausted when we finally decided enough was enough!  Its so hard to remember that we are in our sixties – we can’t do these kid things at the same rate any more – but we’d rather die than not at least try!

Me after a successful surf to the beach

Me after a successful surf to the beach

Oh boy that was fun

Oh boy that was fun

Me pretending to be a cool surfer girl!

Me pretending to be a cool surfer girl!

Leave a Reply

