Struisbaai Holiday Day 22 Fishing Running Swimming

Oh boy – it was an early wake-up call for me this morning.  The weather was perfect for fishing and I went with Earl and Yasin to launch the boat so I could bring the car home.  I needed to go to Agulhas to fetch the laundry before early closing on a Saturday.   So I just put a jacket over my pyjamas and tagged along!  I didn’t go back to sleep on my return but fiddled on the computer and then a welcome Skype call from my best friend in England.  We chatted on-line for an hour.

I didn’t go for a road run, planning to rather to do one on the beach at low tide later in the afternoon.  After collecting the Laundry Shahieda (Mrs Yasin) and I went to Potpourri for a delicious ‘health’ breakfast and an excellent cup of coffee.   We browsed around the shop then went back and put the linen back on the beds and cleaned the house to Yassin standards!

The men returned at about 11:30 and a good catch to brag about.   Earl complained about not being able to get good crew these days but Yasin caught all the fish – 15 yellowtail and a Santa as well as some small red fish which were released.

Mrs Yassin on the jetty next  to Kiora

Shahieda on on the jetty next to Kiora

Yasin on the Kiora

Yasin on Kiora

Earl steering Kiora toward the trailer

Earl steering Kiora toward the trailer

Driving Kiora onto the trailer

Driving Kiora onto the trailer

Bak-load of fish

Bak-load of fish

Proud fishermen

Proud fishermen

Earl said the only reason he didn’t catch was because he had to find the fish and steer the boat – that’s his excuse and he’s sticking to it.

Well to Shahieda and me it didn’t matter – we just enjoyed the fruits of their labour.  Shahieda had never eaten Sushimi before – but now she’s a convert.

After lunch I went to lie on the bed to read my book but before long I was fast asleep. Everybody else, I found out later, also napped for a couple of hours.  We woke up at 4 and Earl and I went to the beach – I did a low tide beach run and then we swam in the wonderfully warm sea.   The wind had come up and the sea was rough – it was like swimming in a washing machine – but great fun.

Shahieda fried some samoosas to have with our pre-dinner sun-downers and the men braaied a yellow-tail for supper.

Preparing to braai the fish

Preparing to braai the fish

Enjoying the spoils of the day

Enjoying the spoils of the day

So ended another glorious day in the Paradise called Struisbaai!

Leave a Reply

