The Coffee Quiz

I am taking up the Coffee Quiz challenge set by CrazyTrainToTinkyTown 

1) How many cups of coffee per day
    I only drink one or two cups per day – but they have to be good.

2) What is your favourite caffeine delivery system?
I have never been to Starbucks – wasn’t there when I was last in England many years ago.  Here in Cape Town we have a variety of excellent coffee shops and most restaurants serve wonderful coffee – I judge a restaurant by the quality of its coffee – even if the food is good I won’t go there if the coffee is bad. There are two places I can be guaranteed of a good caffeine fix in my local mall – Wimpy and Food Lover’s Market

3) What was your best cup of coffee? 
I have never had better than the Espressos on the Swiss Alps – Verbier

4) What was your worst cup of coffee? 
When I was touring England it was very difficult to get a good cup of coffee – no Starbucks – The worst coffee I ever had was at a restaurant near Jane Austin’s house.  I asked if they made filter coffee and was relieved to hear that yes indeed they did.  When the coffee arrived it was awful.  I asked the waitress how she went about making it.  And she  had done all the right things and then she said, I poured in half and cup and then added boiling water”  Why?   Because people don’t like it strong.   I am afraid I was a little sarcastic – My darling, I said,  Across the channel  – they do!

5) What does your favourite mug say?
It’s one my grandsons gave me and is extremely complimentary.  “Worlds Greatest Grandma”  It has a little poem on it that says things like “You’ll beat any other grandma in any grandma test, there are no grandmas better, you can’t get better than the best.”

6) How do you take your coffee?
Strong, Hot, Black and Rich – Men are better that way too.

7) When was your first cup? 
My most memorable coffees were the tiny Turkish coffees I drank at home in my teens – My father was Greek  and I believe the Turks taught the Greeks to make coffee.

8) Have you ever gone on a coffee date? 
I go on many coffee dates with girlfriends.   We chat, bond and get high on coffee.  Average price for a good cup of coffee in Cape Town would be between R8,00 and R18,00   (55p to £1,30) depending on whether you order black filter, espresso, cappuccino etc.

One thought on “The Coffee Quiz

Leave a Reply

