Struisbaai Gathering of Three Generations Day 4

My eyes sting with the saltiness of the sea water, and I reel against the sudden chill as a wave crashes over my shoulders. But soon I am revelling in a refreshing swim as I become accustomed to the temperature.  I frolic in the breakers feeling like a kid again. It is 8:00 a.m. and Josh, Simon and I have walked and run along the most beautiful beach in Africa for half an hour.   How amazing to start the day in the delicious Indian Ocean at the Southern Tip of Africa.   A more idyllic place would be hard to find.

First stop - the harbour

First stop – the harbour

Interesting

Interesting Vehicle

Simon intrigued by the barble washed ashore

Simon intrigued by the barbel washed ashore

The boardwalk connects the harbour beach to the long beach

The boardwalk connects the harbour beach to the long beach

A Kelp Gull sheltering among the rocks

A Kelp Gull sheltering among the rocks

The boys brave the cool waves

The boys brave the cool waves

Wrapping up after

Wrapping up after

Life guard coming on duty

Life guards coming on duty

Back home we found a daughter cooking breakfast

Back home we found a daughter cooking breakfast

Grandpa and Jay, in the meantime, were enjoying a perfect morning at sea – the seasick ones remained at home today!

Jay's Catch

Jay’s Catch

After breakfast – croissants – the boys and I managed to get the last 10 from the OK Grocer’s bakery – and egg and bacon cooked by Laurie – we headed back to the beach.  This time we decided to enjoy the calmer waters of the harbour.

IMG_0309

It’s a safe family beach

IMG_0313

Even the dogs are having fun

IMG_0311After we all enjoyed a swim in the safe waters we enjoyed soft serve ice creams and then spotted Kiora racing into to the harbour.

IMG_0300

The boat to match the vehicle we saw earlier!

IMG_0306

IMG_0324

Getting Kiora onto the trailer

The Champions

The Champions – a lovely catch of cob

Shannon and I had a little mishap while watching the hitching of the boat.  Shan wanted to climb up onto the boat and walked down the slipway which was covered with green, slimy sea moss.  Oops she slipped and slid down on her back, hitting her head to boot.  She lay unable to get up and I instinctively went to her aid and yes you guessed it slipped in the same way myself!  In my effort to save myself I hurt my wrist but no other damage done – I might, though, have a small broken bone in my hand!  I will only find out tomorrow when I go to Bredasdorp for an x-ray!  Shan has grazes on her back and a bit of a headache but otherwise – no harm done!

Annie is suffering from torn ligaments in her ankle and had a spare brace that is perfect for my hand which has a rather suspicious looking swollen lump on it- I am managing to type so it can’t be too serious – fortunately it’s my left hand.

Annie and Shannon creating a delicious salad

Annie and Shannon creating a delicious salad

Grandpa braaing the cob

Grandpa braaing the cob

Jay and Simon getting digital

Jay and Simon getting digital

Lovely fish

Lovely fish

Helping the daughter

Helping the daughter

 

Fab meal

Fab meal

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Struisbaai Gathering of Three Generations Day 4

  1. Oh my gosh I can just smell and taste that Cob. My mouth is watering. What a lovely group of people you have there and seems such fun. Sorry to hear you both had a fall but hope all is well and that you have no broken bones. Enjoy the stay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

