Kokstad Kids in Cape Town – Visit to Castle Rock and Climbing Elsie’s Peak

Yesterday the kids went to visit Aunt Carol and Uncle Vere at Castle Rock.  Earl and I decided to have a quiet day at home.  We went to the mall to do some necessary shopping and to have breakfast. It was busy everywhere but we bumped into my cousin, Susan at Mugg and Bean chatted to her and Andy for a while and then took over their table.

Here are the pictures of the kids’ day at Castle Rock.

20141227_133525

At the braai

20141227_133617

Sugarbird at the feeder

20141227_122456

The fire

20141227_134226

Sunbird at the feeder

Today they visited Anneline and Jeffrey. Earl went to sort out a problem with the repeater in Somerset West and I got the urge to tidy kitchen cupboards!

In the afternoon Lauren, the kids and I climbed Elsie’s Peak.   I have climbed this mountain more times than I can remember – as a child, with my Sun Valley Grade Four class many years ago, with the boys when they were Cubs.  I remember it as an easy stroll along a contour path.  When the boys were little I rode bikes with them, hiked with them and always enjoyed the challenge of keeping up with their antics.  Now that they are in their teens …… the pace seems to have increased somewhat.  Those kids ran up Ravine Stairs! ( I should have stuck to the original plan of parking outside my sister’s house on Berg Road!)  They then leapt up the mountain like Klipspringers! Lauren and I found ourselves separated from them and took a slightly different route.  Jay called on the cell to tell us we’d taken the wrong route. We told them to just wait and went up Elsies thinking they were already there.  But they were waiting on a different path and we only met up on our way down. The kids then ran up Elsies and we waited for them before making the descent.  Anyway it was tremendous fun.  But I did freak out when they leapt and ran instead of taking care.  “Gran, you can do it – just plan which rock you’re going to jump on next and go for it,” suggested Jay”  Yes right!

I wanted to climb up onto a rock I remembered doing as a child and Josh led the way through the bush – but on the way back I slipped and fell, grazing my knee!  I’ve reached the stage that I just need to stick to the path!

The start from Berg Road - We'd already climbed hundreds of steps from The Outspan

The start from Berg Road – We’d already climbed hundreds of steps from The Outspan

A bench in memory of my friend, Celia's, late husband

A bench in memory of my friend Celia’s, late husband, Allan Wolfe

IMG_1064

Cape Rock Thrush

IMG_1057

View from the Contour Path

Lauren spotted this Cape Rock Thrush

Lauren spotted this Cape Rock Thrush

He flew to this location

He flew to this location

IMG_1077

View towards Kalk Bay and Muizenberg

Josh showing Simon the sights

Josh showing Simon the sights

Towards Glencairn

Towards Glencairn

IMG_1080

Fish Hoek Beach

IMG_1082

On the mountain

IMG_1083

The crazy, super fit grandson

IMG_1087

Another beach view from my rock

IMG_1088

The kids ran down up and down this path!

IMG_1089

Ravine Steps

IMG_1096

Josh taking the easy way down

IMG_1097

And here comes Jay

The whole excursion took us about three hours and it was well worth the effort.  We all had an amazing time and returned home for a Pizza supper!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Kokstad Kids in Cape Town – Visit to Castle Rock and Climbing Elsie’s Peak

Leave a Reply

