Retiring Adventurously – Homeward Bound

12 January 2015 – Outjo to Robertson to Cape Town

The sun gets up a little later here in Namibia than it does in The Western Cape so we are up at 5 in order to get to the airfield by sunrise.

We pack the Landy – no lift in a luxury vehicle this time – and set off for Outjo.  The canvas roof is on but the windows do not wind up. It is a tad chilly but not uncomfortable but the wind is now not blowing through my hair but rather through my ear!  I am glad that I kept my jersey out and drape it over me for a little extra warmth.  All goes well – the usual cowboy style driving at break-neck speed – but I’m used to this now.  What I do not expect is a slight change in the weather and rain pelting down in big splats onto the windscreen – and no working wipers.  This does not daunt our host and he races on with gay abandon.  Indeed, I do find it quite exhilarating.  Abrie offers me his jacket which I use as a shield at the open window more as wind than rain protection as here the rain comes straight down and does not enter the car at all.  We drive snuggled together for some time and then like magic the skies clear and the rain is gone. Suddenly, Abrie screeches to a halt – there is an apparition in the middle of the road which turns out to be a tall Herero teenager with a bag upon his head.  He is hitch-hiking.  Abrie tells him to jump into the back.  He grins his thanks broadly.

The Landy that took us there

The Landy that took us there

We arrive at the airfield. Phineas, the caretaker, greets us and helps us pack the plane. Earl takes the young man to town where he is to drop off the Landy. The chap who took us to the farm will bring him back and then keep the Landy till Abrie’s return.  Before they go the young Herero gives Phineas his cell and he poses for a photo in front of the plane.  I decide to get one of him too.

IMG_2072

The young man is kitted out in his best town clothes, cell phone plugged into his ears, music blaring like any modern teen.

Sunrise at Outjo

Sunrise at Outjo

IMG_2079

We are soon in the air again.  The mini-gymnast troupe are touring with someone else now.  I fancy myself a seasoned flyer and take my seat with not a care in the world.  What I experienced this weekend has dispelled all my phobias and I will live dangerously and fearlessly from this day on!

The Robertson Valley

The Robertson Valley

Breede River runs through it

Breede River runs through it

We fly over Springfield

We fly over Springfield

Abrie lands the plane and taxis it straight into the hangar – without bumping another plane.   The fit is perfect.   We drive to Springfield have a cup of tea, pick up some wine and we’re off back to Cape Town.   We take a scenic route via Franschoek. We marvel at the contrast between our home province and Namibia – Both have their own unique beauty – the one rugged, flat and dry, full of character the other green, lush and gentle with towering mountains.  Wow – I just love that I get to experience it all!

Franschoek Valley

Franschoek Valley

2 thoughts on “Retiring Adventurously – Homeward Bound

  1. My gosh what an interesting life you both live. Here there and everywhere. You sure get around. Looks like you had a good time but I hate those small planes. Well done to you for travelling in it. Enjoy retirement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

