Celebrations

The holidays are over, the teachers returned to school on Monday and the kids on Wednesday.  I must confess to feeling a little twinge of depression.  The beginning of a year is always so exciting. On Monday I pictured my colleagues getting their classrooms ready to receive those eager little people, sorting our new stationery – oh how I love new stationery- and planning an innovative new programme for 2015!  On Wednesday, I had to take my mind off the thought of missing out on the fun and thrilling first day of Grade 1 – so I indulged in the best therapy ever – Retail and the Waterfront – with my fashion guru friend, Sharon!

A complementary taste of wine while waiting for a table at Willoughbies

A complimentary taste of wine while waiting for a table at Willoughby’s

Yes Sushi beats a take-away snack from Birdie Num Nums

Yes Sushi beats a take-away snack from Birdie Num Nums (School Tuck Shop)

We had a wonderful feminine bonding time, spent a little bit of money but mostly it was just great to be in The Big City – for us in the deep south it’s like going to London or Paris!

It was my sister’s 60th birthday on Friday and she celebrated with a wonderful breakfast on a beautiful day at La Belle, Alphen Boutique Hotel.  Now, had I been teaching, I wouldn’t have been able to be there – so much fun to be retired!

My sister and me

My sister and me

Fabulous venue - Excellent food

Fabulous venue – Excellent food

It was lovely to see all Tana’s friends – many since school days – at the party.

Aunty Vi

Aunty Vi

Cousin Maria

Cousin Maria

Old School friend, Debbie

Old School friend, Debbie

Old School friend, Gillian

Old School friend, Gillian

Patricia (sister-in-law) relating a beautiful story about Tana

Patricia (sister-in-law) relating a beautiful story about Tana

Guests listening in awe

Guests listening in awe – Lindsay, Catherine, Di, Michele

It was a wonderful celebration for my caring sister who is always there for her friends and family and will drop everything to help them.   Happy Birthday, precious sister.  Love you lots.

On Saturday morning my breakfast club met at Bistro Sixteen82.  We had not seen each other since my and Cheryl’s birthday celebration in November!   It was wonderful catching up with those who could make it.   Specially nice to see Melody who only comes on the odd ocassion.

Breakfast Club-001 The Breakfast Club Girls

On Saturday afternoon we had another celebration.  My brother Michael’s son, Kyle married his teenage sweetheart, Giulia. The wedding was held at Cape Point Vineyards – the most stunning venue in Cape Town. And just because it is on our doorstep doesn’t make me biased!  Everything was perfect – the setting, the decor and the food.  The bride attended by her beautiful bridesmaids looked amazing and the little flower girl, Olivia stole the show.

My great-niece Olivia taking her duty very seriously

My great-niece Olivia (4) taking her duty very seriously

Here comes the bride

Here comes the bride

The happy couple

The happy couple

It was a simple and beautiful ceremony where the couple were exhorted to carry on doing what they are doing as clearly it was working!    How amazing that these two have been together since they were in High School and are still so in love at 29. May they have a long and happy marriage.

The family is scattered around the world so many people came from far and wide to celebrate with these two beautiful young people.

It was lovely to see Mick who said nice things about me so now he is my favourite nephew!

Mick left his yacht in Italy to be groomsman for his brother

Mick left his yacht in Italy to be groomsman for his brother

My gorgeous niece, Martine and her hadsome husband, Craig came over from Spain

My gorgeous niece, Martine and her handsome husband, Craig came over from Spain

My favourite niece, Belinda - she also said nice things about me.  Love you too Martine!

My favourite niece, Belinda – she also said nice things about me. Love you too Martine!

Mother and Father of the groom

Mother and Father of the groom

With the bride being of Italian extraction and the groom of Greek, you can just imagine what the party was like after the ceremony!   The master of ceremonies called everyone to attention with Ladies and Gentlemen, Greeks and Italians …….

And there was a special request not to break any plates until after the meal!  The party was awesome and everybody danced till late into the night.

IMG_0048 (2)

2 thoughts on “Celebrations

  1. Helen you will never be bored being retired. You already have proved how much you are enjoying yourself. Tanas birthday looked wonderful and what a beautiful sister she is. Never changes. The wedding was stunning and what a setting. You have some beautiful people in your family. The grooms father looked a lot like your lovely dad. How they would have loved this all. Enjoy being retired may even see you at a restaurant where we can have coffee.

    Like

    • Thank you Mary. Michael is indeed very much like Dad. I know Mom and Dad were watching from above and rejoicing! The knew Giulia and Kyle would tie the knot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

