A Whale of a Time in Struisbaai

There are two things my darling husband knows I don’t do.  I don’t fly in light aircrafts and I don’t go out to sea in small boats!  Yet this year found me flying not once but twice in a light aircraft and today, wait for it, I went out to sea in Kiora – his small fishing boat!’

And why was I persuaded to do this mad thing?  Well as I’ve mentioned in this Blog before, I’ve decided to retire adventurously and to do things I wouldn’t in my saner days do.  A little bit of madness in one’s old age goes a long way to make one move out of one’s comfort zone.  Megan was keen to go so I decided – oh well why not!

So up we were before 7 this morning and out to sea we went!   I was not a happy camper for the first half an hour it’s the speed and bumping over the waves that scares me silly, but then I got into the flow and decided I’d better just enjoy it.

To be honest it is beautiful out at that time of the morning which is actually late for most fishermen.

Heading out to sea

In the middle of the ocean

This trawler is from Cape Town

This trawler is from Cape Town and on her way to Gaansbaai

Earl spotted some whales

Earl spotted some whales

IMG_8347

IMG_8348

My super zoom camera did not let me down

My super zoom camera did not let me down

I even caught a fish - red stump

I even caught a fish – red stump

We changed Kiora's name to Love Boat

We changed Kiora’s name to Love Boat

IMG_8407

Megan’s Blue Hottentot

IMG_8425

Earl was thrilled to get a beautiful cob

The pyjama shark had to be released

The pyjama shark had to be released

The red roman was released too

The red roman was released too

Phoning and Fishing - After all we girls can multi-task

Phoning and Fishing – After all we girls can multi-task

We moved from reefs to wrecks looking for the best fishing grounds but there was not really much happening today. The scarcity of birds told us that we could try but our luck would be limited so at 11:00 we headed back to shore.

Nice to take photos from the other side

Nice to take photos from the other side

Our beautiful harbour

Our beautiful harbour

Happy Fishers

Happy Fishers

Everybody was pretty tired after all the fresh sea air so after cleaning fish we all had an afternoon nap.   Tonight we are going to Tommy and Megan’s friend’s farm for a braai.

2 thoughts on “A Whale of a Time in Struisbaai

Leave a Reply

