#NABLOPOMO 16 A day of Preparation

NABLOPOMO

I am full of excitement today.  At my age I still count the sleeps till the day of departure arrives.  There weren’t too many to count this time because it was a fairly last minute decision to take the caravan to Addo Elephant park – so I’ve been like a kid waiting for Christmas.

Although we’ve done a lot of travelling this year, this little trip has me just as thrilled as the past trips.  I just love getting out into the bush!

We returned to Struisbaai from Cape Town yesterday after stopping at Napier for a delicious lunch.  The young waitress recognised us and was very attentive.  She saw the caravan and asked what our plans were.  We told her that our lives now revolve around caravanning and travelling at a whim.  She found that was something to envy!  And it is!  Anyway if ever you pass through Napier – do stop at the little restaurant at the side of the road – it is stunning.    I did not feel like anything on their menu – lovely Boere kos – so she said she’d ask the chef to make me a chicken salad.  Oh wow – it was fantastic

IMG_0891

The cappuccino was good

IMG_0893

Earlie had a burger to die for

IMG_0895

The burger was stacked with a porcupine quill!

My chicken salad was divine - a variety of greens, avo and camembert cheese!

My chicken salad was divine – a variety of greens, avo and camembert cheese topped with kiwi fruit

When we got home I loaded the washing machine and we started packing the caravan. Today I had to sort out Earlie’s new laptop and get his email set up – I won’t go into details but I got only so far before I called the local expert.  Thanks Jaapie for loading Windows Live Mail!  Much easier than what I was trying to do with Microsoft!

Once that nightmare was over I could concentrate on preparing for tomorrow’s departure – I ironed our clothes, did some last minute shopping, printed the check lists and packed the last minute things into the caravan.

Our home on wheels for the next 10 days!

Our home on wheels for the next 10 days!

We leave at 7 tomorrow morning – stop at Riversdale for brekkie then onto Ebb & Flow, Wilderness for 2 nights.  Then four nights in Addo Elephant Park.  After that we will spend two days with our friends, Jim and Maureen in Jeffrey’s Bay!

Watch this space for our safari story.

Leave a Reply

