Share Your World Question Week 1

I am taking up the challenge from Cee’s Photography Blog

Cee’s Photography

Question 1 – As a child, who was your favorite relative?

My answer.  My maternal grandmother.  She was so serene and a ‘real’ granny who never grumbled or scolded.  Her melktert was the best in the world and nobody can bake scones like hers. All her food was delicious. She told wonderful stories and loved me unconditionally.   My childhood was totally wrapped up in my grandmother.

Question 2 – If you could be a tree or plant, (or an animal!) what would you be?

I would choose to be an elephant.   Elephants don’t have to worry about getting fat – they’re supposed to get fat.  I like the idea of a matriarchal society. What  a good idea to have the older sisters and aunts to help care for the babies and only to have the males over by invitation.   It makes for a peaceful lifestyle.  Elephants are intelligent, have excellent memories and are kind and caring unless there is an extreme need to be aggressive. I like that!

Question 3 – What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon?

My preference is to wake up with the sun. In summer this is easy and I find myself up and off to the beach very early.  OR if I’m in a Game Reserve ready to go off in search of wildlife at an very rude hour which doesn’t make me popular with my travelling companions.

In winter it is harder but I’m still up pretty early and before I do anything I exercise in some way or another. This gets me going for whatever else the day has to offer.

Question 4 – Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?

I like the idea of a human-sized nest in a tree.  I don’t like the idea of being underground at all. Caves and holes are dark and dank and that would be depressing.  I would love to wake up to the sound of nature – birds singing, wind rustling the leaves, the sea crashing or a tinkling stream.  I’d like to feel the first sun-rays warming my skin and to be able to breath in the fresh morning air as I am roused from my night’s rest. I’m a morning person and so I identify with the early bird who catches the worm.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that my family and I have remained safe during the holiday season. We have not travelled long distances as we often do at this time of year but there have been the odd short excursions on the treacherous roads of South Africa.    I pray every day that we are all careful and safe on the roads so full of idiotic drivers who don’t seem to value their own nor the lives of fellow road users.

I look forward to another week with the family before returning to our home in Struisbaai.  I look forward to catching up with friends and hearing about their lives since last seeing them.  How lucky I am to have a circle of friends that have been part of my life forever.

 

 

One thought on “Share Your World Question Week 1

Leave a Reply

