Struisbaai and Share Your World Week 4

It seems a while since I’ve posted anything about Struisbaai so I thought I’d write something today and combine it with Share Your World Questions.

1. What one thing are you really glad you did yesterday?

I’m going to replace the yesterday with today!

This morning we got up later than usual. I have always been an early riser and thought during retirement that I would continue to be up with the sparrows – but not so – Sometimes I only get up after 8 o’clock!   Usually I do a bit of gym then run to the beach and have a swim before breakfast.  Today we skipped the gym part, drove to the beach and had a delicious swim just after 9 o’clock before returning to an ‘Early Breakfast’ of giant black mushrooms and fried banana, tomato, bacon and eggs.  “To die for doll!”

After breakfast we walked to the harbour to see what the boats had brought in.  I will never grow tired of Struisbaai harbour!  It must be the most picturesque and interesting little harbour in the Western Cape.  Or maybe I’m just biased.

IMG_4138

My Beautiful Harbour

IMG_4133

Commercial Fishermen rowing back from their moored boat

IMG_4110

Gulls ready for breakfast

I’m sorry I didn’t take photos of the huge yellowtail being off loaded from one of the ski-boats but believe me there were some beautiful fish.   I concentrated on the commercial fishermen gutting on the slipway and throwing the guts to the stingrays and gulls.

IMG_4096

Ready to clean the mackeral

IMG_4102

Chatting about the catch

IMG_4103

The birds know what’s coming

 

IMG_4116

Breakfast!

IMG_4106

The Stingray won’t be left out.

I am glad we did this today as afterwards we sat at Pelican’s Cafe and had a cup of coffee and met a couple from Cape Town and had a great chat with them. I overheard them talking about birds which is what started the conversation!

2. Are you generally focused on today or tomorrow?

Definitely I am focussed on today although I do make plans for tomorrow. But specially in my retired state I let things happen on a daily basis!  So far I’m having a fabulous day!

3. Would you want to have a guardian angel/mentor? What would they tell you right now?

I am convinced that my guardian angel works overtime on me!   Why else would my life be so good and full of good things happening in it.  I think she would tell me to take every opportunity that comes my way and to enjoy every minute of my life.

4. Would you rather live in a cave house or a dome house made out of glass?

I would definitely choose a cave.  One of my fondest memories is staying in cave accommodation in Kagga Kamma – a private game reserve in the Cedarberg Mountains.  Originally this area was home to the San people who lived in caves.   Caves have cleverly been recreated using artificial rock to blend in with the surrounding mountainside.  They are so cosy and it was great fun staying there.

kagga-kamma-game-reserve-accommodation-480

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

On the mountainside of Fish Hoek which is near to where I lived in Cape Town there were horrific fires which threatened the homes of my sister, aunt, sister-in-law and many friends.   I am grateful that none of them lost their homes in spite of been evacuated or nearly evacuated (some refused to leave in order to fight the fires themselves).  I am grateful the the amazing fire-fighters and helicopter pilots who worked so bravely to beat the fiery monster.

Next week I am looking forward to entertaining friends and fishermen who are coming up for an angling competition.   It will be great to have a houseful again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Struisbaai and Share Your World Week 4

Leave a Reply

