Share your World #23

Here are my answers to Cee’s questions for this week.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

I had only three student jobs before I graduated with my Teachers’ Diploma. The first was at a bakery on Saturday mornings – it was hectic and I was paid R2.00.  I was 16 years old and only did it for a few months.  After that I had a vacation job in an office in the city.  It was for three weeks and the experience was awesome.  The permanent staff in the office were so interesting and I learned a lot about life from them – perhaps more than was age appropriate!  Then at age 17 I had a vacation job at the local hospital as a Nurse Aid.   Well!  That was an even bigger experience – It was very hard work – making perfect hospital beds, emptying bed pans, doing bed baths, dealing with vomiting patients and the highlight – watching the birth of a baby!

My first real job was as an itinerant Speech Correction Teacher – and from then on a very chequered career in teaching – I don’t regret a second.

What is your favorite month of the year?

I would rather answer this as my favourite season of the year – Autumn/Fall.   Here in the Western Cape this is the most beautiful time of year.  The weather is changeable but in a good year May/June produces windless, sunny days that are neither too hot nor too cold.   It’s the stillness that I love – the clear days when the sea is a calm as a millpond and it is a delight to sit in the sun and drink in the fresh air.  I just love it.

What three things in nature do you find most beautiful?

Birds, the bush and the sea. Birds are all around us – they sound wonderful, they look beautiful and they fill me with joy.  The Bush in South Africa is amazing – my spirit is renewed every time I enter a wildlife park and experience the isolation and wonder of the wild.  The Sea – ever changing and dramatic – who can live without it.

List at least five of your favorite spices? (excluding salt and pepper)

Garlic, origanum, Ina Paarman Rosemary and Olive, Basil, ginger, cinnamon.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful that the process of applying for a UK Visitor’s Visa is over – what an intense and expensive experience – Schengen was so much more pleasant. I have the latter – hopefully the former is as successful. Travel for South Africans is complicated!

I am looking forward to a week of getting our Struisbaai home into shape – the extensions are complete and the new cupboards almost all done.  Now for the final decorating!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Share your World #23

  1. Hi Helen, ina paarman is ( or I should was as she has dead a little while) my friend Norah’s auntie. I think the son took over the business.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

