Share your world Week 44

Sorry that I haven’t participated for a while – have not read or written blogs for a few months due to travel and other time consuming stuff.  I am now trying to get back into it.

What was your favorite subject in school?

I loved English – even Grammar which seemed to be a problem for most kids but I found it quite logical.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?

I am used to help in the home but since retiring I’ve taken to doing my own housework.   Cleaning windows is the worst chore so that is what I’d want done at least once a month. Other chores would include cleaning the bathroom and kitchen and and mopping my tiled floors.

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I lived in a delightful suburb of Cape Town called Fish Hoek and I lived there or not far from there for most of my life.  In those early days it was a sleepy seaside village when children were free to play unsupervised and the beach and the mountain were our playgrounds. It is still a delightful place but more built up and the traffic is a nightmare.

And now I live in another sleepy seaside place at the southern tip of Africa. It is called Struisbaai and I love it.

old-fish-hoek

Fish Hoek Beach in the sixties

img_0823

The beach is still there!   This is the upgraded Jager’s Walk

In your opinion, list some places that are great for shopping?

Paris of course. But seriously when I am in Cape Town I head straight to Woolworths. At home in Struisbaai I love the little shops we have in our tiny mall and our main business area.  In spite of it being a small town most of our needs are met and we like to support local business where possible.  And then there’s Bredasdorp 30km away. Once again you are assured of friendly and helpful service from the owners of the stores themselves.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that my husband is returning to good health.

I look forward to finishing packing up the Cape Town home we’ve just sold.

One thought on “Share your world Week 44

  1. I was there… not in the sixities. I now love this one in Cape Town by the sea (near Mandela Blvd) also local business.
    I’m happy to have found an air ticket two weeks ago and going to South Africa in two months !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

