Share your world #47

This week’s  questions to Share your world #47 correlate to Thanksgiving Day in the USA.  We don’t celebrate this holiday in South Africa but I’m answering anyway.

What are you grateful for in regard to

Your home life?

My home life has changed a lot in the past two years.  From being the matriarch of an extended family to being just the two of us in our retirement home in Struisbaai.  I love that I’m no longer responsible for seeing that everyone has a hot meal at the end of each day, homework is done and pets are cared for and that all I have to worry about is the two of us.  We have never before lived alone just the two of us and now we are enjoying just that – the two of us and doing exactly as we please.

your family?

Well there’s nothing to beat family.  I’ve learned how important that is over the years but specially this year when I was far from home and had to deal with problems in a foreign language.  Whatsapp, Facebook and Email kept me in touch with my nearest and dearest.  I couldn’t have coped without their virtual support

Your blogging community

What can I say?  Meeting people from all over the world and finding so many things I have in common with them.  Finding people who read my blogs and comment on my life is humbling to say the least.  And I just love learning about others in far flung lands and hope to meet some of them in the flesh one day.

Your city or immediate area in which you live?

My friends and family can’t believe that I’m actually deliciously happy in my new environment. I’ve moved from the most beautiful city in the world – Cape Town – to the most beautiful village in the world – Struisbaai.  I grew up in Cape Town, had an amazing career and life there and now I’ve left it for a tiny place at the Southern Tip of Africa.  And I love it.  I love the freedom it gives me – no worries about the what the rest of the family are doing – it’s up to them now.   After 34 years of being an exended, blended family it’s now just my husband and me.  We can do what we want when we want.  We can take off in our caravan and explore our country at the drop of a hat. And our holiday home is slowly becoming the perfect place that we want it to be

The regional area in which you live?

The regional area where I live is called The Overberg.   It is a region in South Africa to the east of Cape Town beyond the Hottentots-Holland mountains. It lies along the Western Cape Province’s south coast between the Cape Peninsula and the region known as the Garden Route in the east. The Overberg has rugged mountain ranges, fynbos, rolling wheat and canola fields, and splendid coastal vistas.   What’s not to love?

The country where you live?

There are problems in the country where I live.  But hey – where in the world aren’t there problems. I’m just grateful that I live in a land where I can still explore the wilds.  There is also hope here. We are the Rainbow Nation and although we have a long way to go, people in this country are trying to make it better.   We just have to hang in there.  Too many take the  ‘chicken run’ and leave to seek greener pastures – then they find that it’s not so great away from their homeland and some come back to make a difference – and they do.

You?

I have to confess that at my age – it’s my 64th birthday tomorrow – I am selfish.  I love my life and do everything I can to make sure I live each day that’s left to the fullest. Yes, I try to help others but my priority is to enjoy myself, to see as much of the world as I can, and to live each day as if it’s my last because just maybe it is.

To quote the Beatles – Will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I’m sixty four?

I think I can count on my husband to give a resounding yes to that!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am so grateful for Willie who is landscaping my garden and helping revamp certain rooms in my house. I am also grateful that my hubby is convalescing amazingly well and is almost back to his old self

Next week I am looking forward to seeing the fixing up of our daughter’s new house complete.  Life is good.

7 thoughts on “Share your world #47

Leave a Reply

