Cee’s Share your world Week 49

Here are my answers to Cee’s Share your world week 49

What do you value most in a friendship

That depends on who the friend is. Each person is valued in a different way. Some friends are new, some are old, some stay and some go but even those from the past have contributed something to my life and I value them still.  I believe people come into our lives at different times for different reasons and if they move on, that’s okay – life happens, circumstances change and often when we meet up with that person again we pick right up from where we left off – that’s friendship.

I also tend not to expect anything – ask not what your friend can do for you but what you can do for your friend.  Having said this all these are the things I do value in a friendship.

  • Having fun together – chatting, laughing, sharing
  • Common interests
  • Travelling companions in some
  • Unconditional love

Do you prefer eating the frosting of the cake or the cupcake first?  Do you prefer a specific flavor?

I will make sure there is frosting left at the end to eat with the last of the cupcake.  Chocolate is an absolute favourite.

Have you ever been in a submarine?  If you haven’t, would you want to?

I have – but not when it went under the sea.   No – I wouldn’t want to go on a submarine trip – but if the opportunity came up I probably would – just to say I had that particular adventure!

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

I should imagine that there would be some who led very interesting lives but I’m not sure if I could compare their satisfaction to mine.  I love my life, it has been full of events – both difficult and wonderful and I’m sure most people my age could say the same. I have just returned from a college reunion where we ranged in age from 61 to 96  and everyone had a story.

 

 

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

The college I attended closed its doors at the end of 1975. The buildings were sold to Rhodes University and so it still stands although somewhat altered.  I went to a reunion there last weekend and once again felt enormously grateful that I had the ato attend when it was the best teachers’ training college in the country.

15284190_1480949631920748_3761339046872929935_n1

GTC Old Girls from the 1970s  Me seated on left of second row from front

I am also grateful for the many happy years in our Cape Town home which we finally helped our children vacate last week.   We cleared an enormous amount of junk, sold and donated some treasures and kept several boxes of “should we chuck or shouldn’t we” Next week I look forward to sorting those last treasure/junk boxes and deciding what to chuck and what will be useful in my Struisbaai home.

Family.jpg

My forlorn family on Moving Day

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cee’s Share your world Week 49

Leave a Reply

