Share Your World 30 January

Here are my answer’s to Cee’s Share your world 30 January 2017

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person?

I am privileged enough to be able to visit many incredible natural venues in my own country and neighbouring African countries.   It’s the birds and wildlife that attract us to visit over and over again.  But the most unusual natural venue I visited in 2015 was Sossusvlei which is a salt and clay pan surrounded by high red dunes, located in the southern part of the Namib Desert, in the Namib-Naukluft National Park of Namibia. Those magnificent Red Dune are mind boggling.

p1050901

We climbed to the top of this one

img_3790

We took an hour and a half flight over the dunes and looked down on our lodgings – our hut is the first one in the row this side of the main buildings.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order? 

I have two brothers and a sister.  I am number two. Big Brother is three years older than I am. My sister is two years younger and Baby Brother is seven years younger than I.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

Well I would not choose to be a shoe!  But I love boots – so that’s what I’ll choose as long as they’re made from real leather and don’t have killer heels.

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

Several years ago we stayed at Lokotula Lodge, Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe – another phenomenal natural venue.

vic-falls

Earl and Me with The Victoria Falls thundering behind us – September 2002.

On our first evening we ate at The Boma which is an area enclosing guests under the glittering African sky. There were sumptuous braaied (barbequed) meats to choose from the buffet and we tried a whole variety including warthog – you can read my story about that here.

As we were wandering around choosing our dishes one of the servers said, “Would you like some mopani worm?”  “No thank you,” I replied.  “But you must,”he insisted and not wanting to offend him both my hubby and I swallowed one each.   It really wasn’t bad but not something I’d rush back to have any time soon!   Well, we continued with our meal and when one of the hostesses came to enquire how we’d enjoyed the food, we told her that it had all been delicious.   “Did you have mopani worms?”she asked.   We replied proudly that we had and she promptly wrote out a certificate for each of us.  So we have proof!

mopani-certificate

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

This week I am grateful for my precious husband, the wonderful friends we have made in our new home, Struisbaai and of course for the family and friends in Cape Town and the rest of the world too.

wedding-photo

Young and in love – On our Wedding Day – 1987-01-30

img_3222

Still in love thirty years later – 2017-01-30

We don’t have many friends in Struisbaai but last night we invited them all to help us celebrate our thirtieth wedding anniversary. Looking back on our years together brought home to us how much we have survived and how much we have been blessed.   They have certainly been dramatic, exciting and adventurous years and we would not have changed a thing.

We don’t plan ahead so I am just looking forward to the surprises that are bound to happen in the coming week.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World 30 January

  1. We are vegetarians so I can always use that as an argument why I will not eat a worm. But if I DID eat a worm, I would want more than a certificate. Like maybe $1,000. Cash. And not a dollar less.

    Like

Leave a Reply

