The Sunshine Blogger Award

Thank you Fiona and Dan for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award.  It has taken me a while to respond as I can’t think of 11 people to nominate so I’ll just post my answers for now and try to nominate later.

sunshine-blog-award

Fiona and Dan are an adventurous young couple who make the most of life and write about their amazing adventures. Fiona and Dan’s Blog

Rules of the Sunshine Blogger Award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the eleven questions set by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate eleven other blogs and give them eleven questions to answer.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post.

What made you start blogging?

I have kept a diary on and off for many years and when I heard about blogging I thought it was a good way of sharing my writing.

If money was no object, what would you do?

I would travel even more than I do now and I would give huge support to conservation projects.

What do you prefer Marine or Terrestrial environments?

I am very concerned about Marine environments and find marine life fascinating but I do not like boats and so prefer my eco touring to be terrestrial.  I love birds and wildlife.

If you were kind and you knew then what you know now. Would you have chosen a different profession and what would it be?

I have been so rewarded in my profession that I can’t think of anything else I would have done besides teach.   Once I joked in the staffroom – “In my next life, I will teach in an all girls’ school.” And a colleague exclaimed – In your next life you want to teach???  And the answer is YES – go figure.

Do you prefer sweet or savory?

I guess I would have to say savoury.   But I do like a bit of sweetness now  and then – I avoid sugar as much as possible but when I indulge in a treat it’s usually something with chocolate in it.  Lemon Meringue pie and cheesecake are also good.

If you could save one animal on the planet which animal would it be?

The  creature I would definitely choose is the Bee because if she were not saved all life on the planet would end.

Favourite music genre and/or band?

I have a few favourites – music that is easy to dance to and music that is pleasant to listen to in the background.  I do not like ‘intrusive’ music.

My favourites are – Barbara Streisand, Neil Diamond, Chris de Burgh,

If you could earn a salary from blogging, would you do it?

No, because then I would have to commit to a regular contribution, I think.  I am at the stage of my life when I want to be flexible and spontaneous.

What are your views and thoughts on global population numbers

There are too many people in the world and we need to educate people to plan their families carefully.

Where do you live now? If you had to move to a foreign country where would you go to?

I live in Stuisbaai at the Southern Tip of Africa. It is a small town, removed from the hustle and bustle of city life and all the dangers associated with most South African urban areas.  It is like living in a different country.   If I had to move I would choose Australia as I think I could adapt to their lifestyle.  But I would rather stay here as I could not bear to be too far from the African bush.

When was the last time you spent the entire day without your cellphone and/or iPad?

In most parts of the Kgalagadi it is impossible to get cell phone signal and connecting to the internet is impossible.  I was there in March 2016 and spent many days without cell/iPad.  The only other time I separate myself from my devices is if I’m too sick to care and that’s almost never.

 

One thought on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

