Share your world 27 February 2017

Here are my answers to this weeks Cee’s Share your world

Ever ran out of gas in your vehicle? 

I can’t remember ever having run out of fuel in my vehicle.   But it’s been close.  Sometimes we travel long distances on roads that seem to go on forever but we make sure that we fuel when we can.  We have been in wild places where we’ve had to take in our own fuel.  That was fun!

 

Which are better: black or green olives?

I am of Mediterranean ancestry so olives are very important to me.  I always have black olives of various types in the fridge but I also like green olives.

If you were a great explorer, what would you explore?

I love exploring and have been to some pretty awesome places.  There is nothing I enjoy more than getting close and personal with African wildlife.

001-giraffe-in-the-sunrise-namutoni-etosha

Sunrise in Africa

009-charging-elephant-namutoni-etosha

This Etosha Elephant tried to charge us

I imagine, though, that a great explorer is someone who goes where no man has gone before.   Well – I can’t identify with that – I have no desire to go to Mars or the arse end of the world where conditions are inhospitably hot or cold.  I don’t mind roughing it but there’s a limit.  So I think for this one I’d say anywhere exotic that I’ve never been before so long as I do not have to risk life or limb. And when I’m there I’d like to meet the local people, learn about their lifestyles and explore their fauna and flora.

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes?

I often go on about attitude being the most important thing to get you through life.

attitude

This one is probably my favourite because I have had so many moments like that have taken my breath away.

life-is-not-measured-by-the-number-of-breaths-we-take

Then there are the more flippant ones that make me laugh

quote-you-can-never-be-too-rich-or-too-thin-wallis-simpson-27-28-83

The last one comes from my brother – “I’d rather be rich and miserable than poor and miserable!”

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

On Monday The Earl had to go to the dentist as he’d lost a tooth while biting into his spare ribs.  (He never did find said tooth!)  She referred him to a periodontist in Somerset West – two hours drive from home.  He was lucky enough to get an appointment the following day. Fortunately I went along with him as during the hour and a half procedure he was given a sedative and wasn’t allowed to drive back!    We were grateful that he was able to get everything done in one session so we don’t have to return.   However, the price has been a lot of post procedure pain!  We went back to the dentist in Bredasdorp today and she has given him more antibiotic and pain medication.  Thankfully he is feeling much better now.

I am looking forward to this weekend as my daughter will be visiting.  She is bringing friends too which will be fun.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Share your world 27 February 2017

Leave a Reply

