Sunday visit to Arniston

Cara and Shaun cooked us a wonderful breakfast on Sunday morning and we discussed what everyone would like to do on their last day.   Swimming and/or body surfing was on the list so we suggested packing cossies and heading off to Arniston where we could also include a visit to The Waenhuiskrans Cave.  The Earl and I secretly hoped to stop to see a bird or two but time was of the essence so we didn’t stop for too many.

 

You can only get into the cave at low tide which Earl said would be at 14h00.   We were a bit earlier than that so we explored the area a bit and then went for a swim.

P1100314

Shaun and Cara with Casper

P1100331

Be careful Cansu

P1100343

Lolz and Cansu watching the surfers at Otter Beach

 

P1100360

Casper also wanted to swim

P1100376-001

Cold – but lovely once you’re in

P1100368

Fun jumping the waves

P1100377

Recovering from a dump!

The boys did some body surfing and the girls some tanning and then we dried off and set off to see if the cave was doable.

The last time I did it with friends it was spring low tide and looked like this.

IMG_8194

Easy to make your way along these dry rocks

P1100389-001

Not so easy when you have to wade through the tide that is not quite out yet

I decided not to risk slipping on the route to the cave just in case I fell and had to deal with weeks of recovery – not a good idea at my ripe old age.  But the young ones being more sure-footed bravely went ahead.

P1100392-001

Shaun the gallant gentleman giving Cansu a hand

P1100398

The Earl watched from the top of the cliff and yelled out directions

To get to the cave you have to go through a smaller one and then crawl through a tunnel.  The kids missed the way at first but Earl was watching from the cliff and gesticulated frantically until they caught on that they’d gone to far. Cara found the tunnel and in they went. As I wasn’t there I couldn’t take photos but these are some from a past trip.

IMG_8187

Inside the cave

IMG_8183

The opening to the sea

IMG_8192

The crawl through tunnel

P1100387

Was this Hayley?  I called her name but she could not hear me above the crashing waves

P1100397

She was a braver woman than I  – It was indeed Hayley and we had a lovely catch- up when she returned.

P1100405-001

Our adventurers returning

The young ones needed to get back to Cape Town so we decided not to have lunch at the motel which was busy and we would have had a long wait to be served.

On the return I had to yell for The Earl to stop as I spotted a Denham’s bustard – a bird I have to see when doing this drive!

IMG_4343-001

We saw very little else in the way of birds but it was still and most enjoyable excursion.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday visit to Arniston

  1. I believe you are a great teller and reporter. And photographer! I would like to jump on a plane and reach you!

    Like

      • I hope once to come there. One of my uncles lived in SA for 20 years, but then he came back to Italy his family 15 years ago. So I didn’t get the chance. Hope as a tourist when my children grow up

        Liked by 1 person

      • My great grandfather came from Sicily – I unfortunately did not meet him. But I hope to get to Sicily one day – We might have gone had we made it further south while it Italy but it was impossible after my husband became ill.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My husband’s family comes from Sicily. But we live near Austria. Next time you can come here, I am sure you will love visiting Sicily. But don’t come in our Summer, far too often hot for me too. Go there in Autumn, the best weather the best climate.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

