Share Your World 3 April 2017

Here are my answers to this week’s Share Your World 3 April 2017

What’s something you like to do the old-fashioned way?

I am a total techno freak and believe in moving with the times. I no longer write letters by hand – why would I when email and texting is so quick.  I rely on a calculator to work out sums, go online to do banking and do a variety of things on the computer.

So there are very few things I do the old fashioned way.   But here are a few things left over from the dark ages

  • knitting and crochet
  • walking whenever possible – hardly ever drive my car
  • wash dishes in the sink – don’t have a dishwasher
  • grow vegetables in the garden

What’s your favorite genre of book or movie?

Generally I avoid watching or reading books and movies with graphic violence.   However, I did enjoy all The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books.   They were intriguing and well written.

Crime is also not my first choice but I will read David Balducchi and Deon Meyer.  I didn’t enjoy the first few Deon Meyers. The stories were good but I didn’t enjoy the style in which they were written. Somebody suggested I read them in Afrikaans.  And that made a huge difference – They’re brilliant in the vernacular.

Jewish stories – Favourite author Chaim Potok

Other favourite authors – Anne Tyler, Kate Atkins, Joanna Trollop, Maeve Binchy, Bryce Courtney, Mavis Cheek, Penelope Lively,

Anything with South African content attracts me.   I have read some excellent books by South African authors.  Michiel Heyns, Pamela Jooste, Rayda Jacobs, Andre Brink to name but a few.

My favourite movies are – Yentl (Barbara Streisand).  84 Charring Cross Road ( I read the book first and the movie was just as good.) Miss Potter ( I saw it five times)

At the moment I am watching Grace and Frankie on Netflix and loving it.

How often do you people watch?

I enjoy watching people and try to guess what their relationship is to the people they’re with.   Mostly I enjoy actually talking to people I meet.   I am not too shy to strike up a conversation with complete strangers.

What have you only recently formed an opinion about?

I can’t think of anything that I’ve formed an opinion about recently. But my opinions have changed in my old age.  I am more tolerant than I was before.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am always grateful for the great time I had at Rosendal Spa last week and I am looking forward to friends coming to stay this weekend.  Life is Good.

 

2 thoughts on “Share Your World 3 April 2017

Leave a Reply

