If we were having coffee

This challenge is hosted by Nerd in the Brain

I have a specific person in mind as I write my post.

If we were having coffee together it would probably be before breakfast at our favourite restaurant, Bistro Sixteen82, overlooking the vineyards. The weather would be sunny and we’d choose to sit close to the open sliding doors.   I would say, Isn’t it a perfectly gorgeous morning and you would agree.  Or that was how it used to be before you went away.

IMG_3720

Bistro Sixteen82

If we could have coffee now because you came to visit, I would take you to Shipwreck Coffee Shop here in Struisbaai.  It’s not as fancy as The Bistro but I’d tell you that here you can get the best cappuccino outside of Italy.  I would have loved you to join my friend Meg and me there yesterday – but maybe one day soon …….

IMG_7546

Best breakfasts, Americanos and Cappuccinos ever

We’d sit beneath the umbrellas and smile at the sunny weather.   We’d sip our coffees while we waited for our breakfast or perhaps a slice of chocolate cake.

P1090484-002

You’d say – “So are you happy here in Struisbaai?”  but of course you’d know the answer to be yes.  And I would say and how is Perth?  And you would tell me all the news of Margo and her kids and Robert and his and how you try to get to see them as much as you can between juggling your teaching and keeping your pretty new home and garden ship shape.  And I would say how I’d love to come and visit.  You’d tell me that would be great but we would not be able to go out for coffee because it’s so expensive in Australia so you would make if for me yourself and I would assure you that would be just great.

If we were having coffee together we would reminisce about the wonderful weekend we had here in Struisbaai five years ago – just us five girls.  We’d remind each other of what we did and where we went and how much fun we had fighting over who would get that scarf from Potpourri.

Scarf fight

And you would say that every time you look at the paintings you bought you think of us.

paintings

And I would say how much we miss you and that I admired you for uprooting yourself to be close to your kids and grandkids.  And you would say you miss us too and reassure me that even though it’s been hard you have enough part time teaching jobs and you’re doing fine. And I would say has it all been worth it and you would reply – “It has!”

And then Rachel would come and give us an omelette that rivals any that The Bistro could produce and we’d laugh and chat and enjoy our food and order another black coffee and cappuccino.

 

One thought on “If we were having coffee

Leave a Reply

