Share Your World 9 October 2017

Here are my answers to this week’s Share Your World from Cee

What do you consider is the most perfect food for you? (It can be your favorite food to something extremely healthy.)

I think I’ve mentioned before in my blogging that a good South African braai is my favourite meal.

I also love anything Greek – Roast lamb Greek style is to die for, Moussaka is irresistible and if spanakopita is on the menu, I’ll have it!

moussaka-124760167-58189dea3df78cc2e898027f.jpg

Are you focussed on tomorrow or now?

I believe in savouring the moment and living each day as if it’s your last.  But also enjoy planning for a future event like a holiday.  Part of the fun is getting ready for the coming event and if it’s to go somewhere new I do research what to do and what not to miss.  I do not stick rigidly to a plan though.  I enjoy spontaneity and going with the flow.

Live For Today Quotes Live For Tomorrow Quotes Quotesgram

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

This is the domain of my youngest brother.  He enjoys researching the ancestors and finding out about what they did in the distant past.  I love hearing about it from him but he has not managed to go too far back.

I have no idea who my great-great-great parents were. They would have lived in the 1700s. Were they peasants or lords?  Some would have lived in Greece, some in Italy. Then there’s the British and German ancestry too.   Perhaps it would be nice to hear from a  great-great-great grandmother. There would have been sixteen of them!   In those days I believe women were seen as being inferior to men and that their sole purpose was childbearing. Perhaps they were subservient to their husbands – perhaps they or some of them rebelled against that and were in fact the real rulers of their homes.  Certainly they had no civic rights and probably did not attend school.  But perhaps they were educated at home?   It would be fun to find out whether they had dreams or aspirations of doing more than becoming a wife and mother or perhaps they were content with their lives and just got on with what had to be done.  I can’t believe that all my 16 great-great-great grandmothers had fabulous lives but perhaps some did.  Perhaps they were beautiful society ladies who attended the king’s caught regularly.  On the other hand perhaps some were parlour maids or cooks in grand homes and worked hard just to keep body and soul together.

They were certainly all from different countries and would not have been at all like each other.  It would be fun to get them all together now to say – Hey -look at your descendants – would you ever have believed that this is how things would work out for them?

Hopefully it will be easier for my descendents to find out about me and get to read my blog!

 

 

 

One thought on “Share Your World 9 October 2017

Leave a Reply

