Stream of Consciousness 30 December 2017

The Stream of consciousness prompt this week is Resolution.

I like to set goals and make New Year Resolutions but last year I decided not to.   All I did was resolve to let the year take me where it wanted to. Que Sera Sera – Whatever will be will be.   My mom used to say this line from the Doris Day song whenever I asked her what would happen in the future.   And of course that is exactly right.  Nevertheless it is nice to have a plan.

But things did not go according to plan in 2016 so I decided after all the dramas that we went through to simply be in 2017.  Our daughter thought it would be a good idea if we stayed still for a at least six months.  We live in a quiet seaside place.  We’re retired.  “Stay at home!”  she advised.  ” Take leisurely walks on the beach. Rock in your rocking chairs on the stoop.  Watch that expensive DSTV you’ve got! And let my daddy get well!”

Well we lasted just short of five months before taking our first tentative steps out into the world again – firstly with a week’s week’s caravan trip to The Free State.  From then on there was no stopping us.  Cape Town saw us a few times. We visited the hot springs in Warmwaterberg,  had an adventure with friends in Addo Elephant Park and spent two weeks in Thailand.

When home we were not idle.  We did some alterations to our home and worked hard on getting our garden into shape. More of this in 2018.

We ended the year on a high note with a four week sojourn in The Kruger National Park with our new caravan.  At the moment we’re relaxing with our kids in KZN.

The Earl did have several hiccups with health but each was successfully dealt with and he is now back to his normal self and raring to go on more and more trips.

Our resolution for 2018 is also on the lines of Che Sera Sear.   We shall wait and see what comes up and we will go with the flow.  We’re starting 2018 with two weeks caravanning in KNP with our grandchildren, Shannon and Simon.  From there – anything is possible.

One thing is for sure though – we resolve to live healthily, be active and do new things but also to listen to our bodies and to rest when we need to.

Happy New Year everybody.  May you have a fun-filled, healthy and adventurous 2018.

 

15 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness 30 December 2017

  1. I remember that song well from my childhood. It goes perfectly with your wonderful lifestyle. Maybe I’ll sing it to my controlling side and mellow out, along with “Let it Be.”

    Like

  2. Your words, “live healthily, be active and do new things” struck a real chord with me. My husband and I have adopted that attitude since retiring and moving to the country and we are happier, stronger and healthier than ever. We aren’t quite as adventurous as you (yes, there’s a little envy in that statement :)) but we are living our lives by our own rules/desires and enjoying every moment. 2018 holds a lot of promise for more of the same. Happy New Year.

    Like

  3. Oh my, oh my I don’t think you two will ever stay put. Your life is one adventure and while you can still do it I say “Go FOR IT” life changes so quickly, so while you are still fit enjoy. Drive safely and have a wonderful and Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A year well done, I say! Your “we resolve to live healthily, be active and do new things but also to listen to our bodies and to rest when we need to” is great advice for everyone. All the best to you and yours in the new year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment