Valentine’s Quiz

Joey at Joeyfullystated  answered some questions posted on her Facebook page and challenged others to answer on their statuses too.  I’ve decided to post mine in My Blog.

In honor of Valentine’s Day, all couples: Make this your status for fun and answer honestly.

Who’s older?
He is 8 years older than I am.
Who was interested first?
It was a blind date.  He fell for me instantly.  I wasn’t far behind.

How long have you been together? 
34 years – 30 legal.

Married? 
Very happily married.   Would not swap him for anything.
More sarcastic? 
Probably me.  Yes – definitely me.

Who makes the most mess? 
He says me – He’s Obsessive Compulsive.

Who has more tattoos? 
We don’t do tattoos.  He is totally anti tattoos – daughters beware – don’t bring a tatooed man to meet Dad!

Better singer? 
Me but neither of us can really sing!
Hogs the remote?

He’s not typical male in that regard – neither of us hog it but I think he prefers me to be in charge of the remote.

Better driver? 
I think it’s me. But he won’t let me drive.  He thinks my driving stinks.  Nobody else complains about my driving – It’s a control thing.  He needs to be in charge.  It’s a boy thing.  He had to let me drive while he was recovering from surgery.  It gave me great pleasure that he couldn’t do anything about it.   It was very hard for him.
Spends the most?
Did I mention he likes to be in control?   He spends the most because he is in charge of the bills. BUT He is a generous man and never denies me anything – so maybe it’s I who makes him spend too much?  No that’s not it.  We both enjoy the good things in life.

Smarter? 
This is an American word for cleverer.  Smart in South African means how smartly you dress – in that case – definitely me.

He thought he was cleverer but actually we’re equal.  Many years ago we did a General Knowledge test with 100 Trivial Pursuit Cards.  We got a dead equal score – But some things I knew, he didn’t and some things he knew, I didn’t.  So we have different areas of clever.  But don’t tell him – I actually think he is cleverer than I.

Most common sense?
Well – I think probably him – but I also have a good deal.  He is just very practical and I am a bit of a dreamer.

What are your middle names? 
Mine – Mary Edwina  His – Mills
Whose siblings do you see most often?
His – He only has one sister and they’re very close so we see her whenever we are in Cape Town.  I keep in touch with mine but don’t see them nearly often enough.

Do you have any children together?
No biological children together. But we both raised his two girls and my one. We also helped his oldest raise her two babies who are now 18 and 19.  Nobody is allowed to say they’re not my real kids.  Our three girls are sisters – not step-sisters.  His grandchildren are my grandchildren – not step-grandchildren.   When we told our grandsons the ‘truth’ about their ancestry – Jay said, “Lucky for you, hey Gran!”
Did you go to the same school? 
No.

Who is the most sensitive? 
I asked him – He said he was because he can’t handle pain.  But he says I’m more emotionally sensitive.

Where do you eat out most as a couple? 
Shipwreck Coffee Shop – usually for breakfast because at our age we don’t do late nights!  Haha that’s a joke.  We also do dinners at Seagulls or other restaurants in the area from time to time. Very occasionally we get a takeaway pizza from Bella Luna – they do gluten free bases.

Where is the farthest you two have traveled together? 
We live at the southern tip of Africa – that’s far away.  No seriously – Tasmania, Australia in terms of distance.  But the distance we’ve travelled in life far exceeds that.

Who has the worst temper? 
Me

Who does the cooking?
Both of us.  But he will tell you that he does all the cooking. He loves cooking but when he cooks I usually help.   But he can cook alone.   He does cook breakfast most often.   But I have just learned to cook a mean omelette – silly me – I shouldn’t have!

Who is more social?
Him – but I am also quite social.   We both have lots of couple friends and own friends.
Who is the neat freak?
He’s OC.  But I have to be neat to satisfy his OC

Who is the most stubborn? 
He does see reason but he can be stubborn – I try not to be stubborn unless I know I am absolutely right.

Who hogs the bed? 
He says it’s me.  It must be because I don’t have a problem with him in my space.

Who wakes up earlier? 
Me but he doesn’t have a problem getting up early if he has to.

Where was your first date?
The Round House, Camps Bay. It was a blind date.   We’ve never been back! We will one day.

Who has the bigger family? 
I have a bigger biological family. He only has a sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew besides our own kids and grandkids  BUT his late first wife had a huge family who we still keep up with.  I am so lucky because they have accepted me as one of the family too. They are the warmest, kindest people on earth.  My family are just as warm and kind.
Do you get flowers often? 
I used to.  Now we grow them in the garden.

Who does the laundry?
Me
Who’s better with the computers?
Me – He is extremely technical but can’t do the day to day stuff on computers. So he yells for me to help him.
Who drives when you are together?
He has to be almost dying before he’ll let me drive.

Who picks where you go to dinner?
Both.  He suggests we go out and I always agree. There aren’t too many places we can go around here but whatever we choose is pretty good.   We also entertain at home from time to time. And we have weekend visitors quite frequently.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Quiz

Leave a comment